Scottish election results: When will Scottish election results be announced, what time?

SNP: Expert issues warning over failing to get majority

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Scotland’s polling stations opened their doors at 7am this morning as voters head out to cast their vote for 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament. The vote today is the sixth election since the parliament was re-established in 1999. And there’s a lot riding on today for Nicola Sturgeon.

The SNP leader admitted having “dark days” over the last 12 months as she contended with the pandemic and the fallout with her former mentor Alex Salmon, who launched his own Alba party for this election.

Speaking last night she said: “I have spent almost every waking moment for the past year trying to steer us through.

“I am the last person that is going to do anything to compromise that route to recovery.”

But Scottish Labour leader Anas Sarwar is standing against Ms Sturgeon in the Glasgow Southside constituency, and she’s also facing stiff competition from the new alba party.

When will Scottish election results be announced?

While in normal times Scots would get the results overnight, due to coronavirus this year won’t be as straightforward.

Counting will take place on Friday morning and through Saturday. Full results should be expected by Saturday evening.

But some results are expected to come in quicker than others.

Results expected on Friday, May 7, and exact times where available:

  • Aberdeen Central, Aberdeen Donside and Aberdeenshire East
  • Airdrie & Shotts (declaration time of noon)
  • Angus North & Mearns (estimated time of 3.30pm)
  • Argyll & Bute (5pm)
  • Ayr (4pm)
  • Banffshire & Buchan Coast
  • Clackmannanshire & Dunblane (6pm)
  • Clydebank & Milngavie
  • Coatbridge & Chryston (noon)
  • Cowdenbeath (1pm)
  • Cunninghame North and Cunninghame South
  • Dumbarton
  • Dundee City West
  • East Lothian
  • Eastwood (4pm)
  • Edinburgh Central, Edinburgh Southern and Edinburgh Western
  • Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire (6.30pm)
  • Falkirk East
  • Fife North East (4pm)

Scottish elections: Sturgeon’s dream of majority too close to call [INSIGHT]

How to get an emergency proxy vote [EXPLAINER]
Election Day 2021: What YOU need to vote – Do I need my polling card? [EXPLAINER]

  • Glasgow Anniesland, Glasgow Maryhill & Springburn, Glasgow Pollo and Glasgow Southside
  • Greenock & Inverclyde
  • Hamilton, Larkhall & Stonehouse
  • Inverness & Nairn (7pm)
  • Kilmarnock & Irvine Valley (5pm)
  • Kirkcaldy (1pm)
  • Linlithgow
  • Midlothian North & Musselburgh (5.30pm)
  • Moray
  • Motherwell & Wishaw
  • Na h-Eileanan an Iar
  • Orkney Islands
  • Paisley (6pm),
  • Perthshire North
  • Renfrewshire North & West Rutherglen
  • Shetland Islands
  • Stirling
  • Strathkelvin & Bearsden

Results expected on Saturday, May 8:

  • Aberdeen South & Kincardine North
  • Aberdeenshire West
  • Almond Valley
  • Angus South
  • Caithness, Sutherland & Ross
  • Carrick, Cumnock & Doon Valley (5pm)
  • Clydesdale,
  • Cumbernauld & Kilsyth,
  • Dumfriesshire,
  • Dundee City East
  • Dunfermline (1pm)
  • East Kilbride, Edinburgh Eastern, Edinburgh Northern & Leith and Edinburgh Pentlands
  • Falkirk West
  • Fife Mid & Glenrothes (1pm)
  • Galloway & West Dumfries
  • Glasgow Cathcart, Glasgow Kelvin, Glasgow Provan, Glasgow Shettleston
  • Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale (6.30pm)
  • Perthshire South & Kinross-shire
  • Renfrewshire South (3pm)
  • Skye, Lochaber & Badenoch
  • Uddingston & Bellshill

Results from the eight regional Proportional Representation top-up seats are expected on Saturday night.

Source: Read Full Article