Voters head to polls in 2 key elections – Is there an exit poll today?

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Voters in Devon’s Tiverton and Honiton and Yorkshire’s Wakefield constituencies will head to the polls on Thursday in what could be two hotly contested by-elections. Both Sir Keir Starmer and Boris Johnson will be closely watching for the results – so will there be an exit poll?

Will there be an exit poll?

An exit poll is a survey that asks voters after they have voted at polling stations which candidate and/or political party they voted for.

They are used to give a quick indication during a general election of who will win in that area – but they can often be wrong.

It’s unlikely there will be an official exit poll for a single constituency election, given that results will likely be available quickly, most likely in the early hours of Friday morning.

Why are by-elections taking place?

These two by-elections have been triggered after the resignation of two MPs in April and May of this year.

Former Conservative MP for Wakefield Imran Ahmad Khan was jailed for 18 months for sexually assaulting a 15-year-old boy.

After being expelled from the Tory party, Mr Khan was still in Parliament as an Independent MP when he stood down following his conviction.

In Tiverton and Honiton, Tory MP Neil Parish stood down after he was twice caught looking at pornography on his phone in parliament.

He admitted the first instance was an accident but that the latter was deliberate.

Mr Parish left the Commons on May 4 after admitting his behaviour was “totally wrong”, after representing the constituency for 12 years.

Mr Parish was a popular figure in the area, winning with a majority of 24,000 at the general election in 2019.

Who are the candidates?

In Tiverton and Honiton:

  • Jordan Donoghue-Morgan, Heritage
  • Andy Foan, Reform UK
  • Richard Foord, Liberal Democrats
  • Helen Hurford, Conservative
  • Liz Pole, Labour
  • Frankie Rufolo, For Britain
  • Ben Walker, Ukip
  • Gill Westcott, Green Party

In Wakefield:

  • Nadeem Ahmed, Conservative Party
  • Akef Akbar, Independent
  • Paul Bickerdike, Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Mick Dodgson, Freedom Alliance. Real People. Real Alternative
  • Sir Archibald Stanton Earl ‘Eaton, The Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Jayda Fransen, Independent
  • Jordan James Gaskell, UK Independence Party
  • David John Rowntree Herdson, Yorkshire Party
  • Therese Hirst, English Democrats
  • Christopher Richard Jones, Northern Independence Party
  • Simon Robert Lightwood, Labour Party
  • Jamie Luke Needle, Liberal Democrats
  • Ashley Theo Blue Routh, Green Party
  • Ashlea Simon, Britain First
  • Chris Walsh, Reform UK

Source: Read Full Article